Have friendship, will travel

I traveled east last week, clear across the country to Raleigh, North Carolina. If you know me, or have read this post, you know I hate to fly. This time though, I packed up my things, gulped my Xanax, and boarded my planes happily because I was going to see a dear friend. We met during that chaotic, miserable, ignorantly blissful time known as our early twenties, and I couldn’t be more grateful that ten years later she still puts up with me.

Six months ago, she and her lovely husband welcomed an extremely adorable baby boy to the world, and I had of course been dying to meet him. You could imagine then, how excited I was when the dates for my trip were finally set.

It didn’t take long to dawn on me, however, that if I was going to see them in person I really should finish that baby blanket I started knitting not long after my friend told me she was pregnant… (In case anyone’s counting, yes, that would have been about a year ago!) So, that’s what I did during most of the free time I had leading up to the trip.

baby blanket

The blanket was a success. It came out at once nubby and soft, and looked charmingly homemade, but not embarrassingly so. My blog post writing during this time was not as much a success, in that it was non-existent. This is why I am talking to you about friendship and nubby baby blankets right now instead of food or books.

I know I can count on you to forgive me though. That’s what friends do after all.

I did read a lot on my trip, so I promise to be back soon with a review or two of food-related books I think you’ll enjoy. In the meantime, get in touch with a good friend – in the words of my ever-wise friend Jessica, it’s good for the spirit.

flying above the clouds

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany

Leave a Reply

