The one cookbook I held out

I’m going to just get right to it today and show you this. This is the Macaroon Tart from Super Natural Every Day by Heidi Swanson, well my version of it at least.

Blackberry Macaroon Tart

Yum! Now for more context. This post could also be titled: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Just Cook Every Single Thing Heidi Swanson Tells Me To…Every. Single. Thing. I didn’t call it that because it’s actually a lesson I learned months ago when I bought her second cookbook, Super Natural Every Day.

Her first cookbook, Super Natural Cooking, has been on my wish list for a while, but I just never pulled the trigger to buy it. I also, of course, love her blog 101 Cookbooks, which is one of the first blogs I read regularly when I started getting back into cooking after the desolate years – when it came to food anyway – known as College and Post-College Poverty. But her second cookbook. Oh man, this is where it’s at.

Super Natural Every Day

I know that much has been said about it already, but I can’t help adding by voice to the chorus. The photography is stunning, so I was immediately pulled in and excited to start trying the recipes. After cooking 5 or 6 recipes that came out absolutely delicious with surprisingly little effort, I realized I had something special on my hands. Since then I’ve made 24 (!) of the recipes in the book and they have been, almost without exception, incredible and not at all difficult to make. And it’s vegetarian! Just perfect.

The Yogurt Biscuits? Sublimely flaky and layered.  The Kale Salad w/coconut and sesame oil? Nutty, crunchy, delightful. The Whole Grain Rice Salad w/cherries and goat cheese? Surprisingly bright and expertly textured. The White Beans & Cabbage? Homey, savory goodness. The Chickpea Stew? Rich, luscious and comforting. The Buttermilk Cake (I made mine w/strawberries)?! Subtly sweet, just delicious. You get the idea.

When we moved cross-country and I faced the fact that I couldn’t have all my cookbooks with me in the temporary place we would be living for a month while we looked for a permanent house, there was one cookbook that I held out from the boxes to cook from during that month and it was this cookbook. (In case you haven’t picked up on it yet, I think you should buy this cookbook!)

The 24th recipe I made from SNED was this Macaroon Tart. I know, I know it’s another blackberry recipe. I promise this is not actually a blog solely devoted to blackberries. But, ’tis still the season (for blackberries that is) and that won’t be the case for much longer, so I am taking advantage.

Blackberries

This time I bought my blackberries from the farmers market that I went on and on about in my last post. They were just so plump and perfect…and I so very very lazy. So instead of picking them myself, I bought a pint at the market and skipped gleefully home (metaphorically at least) to make this tart that I have had dog-eared for months.

Mise en place

It came together in no time and is a trifecta of textures and flavors. The crust is crunchy and buttery, the macaroon filling is soft and chewy, and the jammy pockets of blackberries burst with equal parts sweet and tart. Whether it’s the first or the 24th recipe you’ve made from Super Natural Every Day, it is a winner.

Finished tart

Macaroon Tart

Adapted slightly from Super Natural Every Day
Makes one 8 x 11 inch tart, or one 9-inch round tart and two mini tarts (if you, like me, do not have the former)

I didn’t have all the ingredients that are called for, specifically the healthier options for flour and sugar, so I made some substitutions. Because of that, my version is perhaps more accessible, but not as wholesome. If you’re using this much butter in a recipe I can’t imagine health is the first thing on your mind, but by all means use the called-for ingredients if you have them.

Here I’ve listed my notes on the recipe, but to view the entire recipe and instructions for baking it, please click here to visit the blog Tartlette where the recipe is posted with permission of the publisher.

My recipe notes:

  • Instead of 1 1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour, I used 1 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour.
  • Instead of finely shredded unsweetened coconut, I used large flake unsweetened coconut.
  • Instead of natural cane sugar, I used regular white sugar.
  • Also, a note on the egg whites: I used egg whites that I had in the freezer from when I made lemon curd a couple weeks ago and had lots of whites left over. Have you ever done that? It’s so great not to waste the whites! And they freeze and thaw out again beautifully. Just remember to set them out and give them enough time to thaw – you can’t warm them in the microwave without risk of cooking them!
3 Comments

Filed under Books, Dessert, Food

3 responses to “The one cookbook I held out

  1. Dad

    Keep that recipe dog-eared for our visit. It looks really yummy! Anything coconut and I’m there.

  2. Pingback: On life lessons and red cabbage | BookLoverCook

Leave a Reply

