The holidays are coming, the holidays are coming!

They are. They are coming…somehow it is mid-November! How did that happen you ask? I have no idea.

I love the holidays though and really love the food part, so I am excited. But I actually feel a little robbed this year that I haven’t started thinking about what to make for Thanksgiving until now. I would usually have started the process of reading, bookmarking and drooling over recipes in October. Pesky graduate school! I have finally started thinking about it in earnest though, and wanted to share some of those thoughts with you.

pumpkins!

As you’ve probably picked up if you’ve read this blog (and/or if you know me, which, let’s be honest, is most of you that read this blog:) I am a vegetarian. And my boyfriend is too, which makes things easy. For our Thanksgiving we are going to have lots o’ veggies and things that are usually thought of as sides, but that to us are the main event.

I’ve also started combing through my various files and lists for holiday-y things to make for food gifts, which are my favorite type of Christmas gifts to give, and for things to just make during these two months. Because I can. Because during these two glorious months one can get away with using way more butter and cream than would usually be allowed in civilized society.

As with the last time I shared my recipe lists with you, I’d like to give you a few that I’ve made myself and would strongly recommend, as well as some that have made it onto my “to make” list and that I think could make it onto yours.

But! I would LOVE to hear what you are making for Thanksgiving, what your favorite Christmas treat is, or what you love to make this time of year just because you can. I need to make up for those few lost weeks of holiday-food-obsessing that grad school has robbed me of. Help me out and post a comment below!

apple!

Dishes I’ve made and would happily make again:

Dishes I’ve yet to make, but are on the Holiday list:

Desserts I’ve made and love:

Desserts I can’t wait to make:

A yummy way to use up leftover cranberry sauce:

Food to give as gifts:

Thank you so much for reading my meager offerings on this blog so far – I am thankful for you. Happy Thanksgiving!

10 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Food, Main Course, Sides

10 responses to “The holidays are coming, the holidays are coming!

  1. Granny P.

    Oh, I have to make the Touch of Grace Biscuits – love the name and they look wonderful! And puh-lease have some brussel sprouts when I get there next week?? Leftovers would be fine :)

  2. Pam

    Sounds like you are getting ready for a great Thanksgiving! Will you be cooking for a large group? Butternut squash manicotti is on my menu!

    • Oh wow, butternut squash manicotti? That sounds wonderful, Pam! Right after my Italian grandmother’s heart :) We won’t be a big group this year – just me and my boyfriend and his mom will be coming to spend the weekend with us. So, I won’t be making ALL the dishes I posted about, just a choice few. I’d love to cook a big Thanksgiving one of these years though!

  3. Pam

    Happy Thanksgiving, Elizabeth! I have enjoyed watching the progression of your meal preparation today. What a feast you prepared! I hope you have some left-overs for the week-end!

  4. Pam

    The Butternut squash manicotti was delicious! I am making it again tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

